Iranian Nominees for Hans Christian Andersen Award


Following a close review and examination process, Iran’s Children’s Book Council (ICBC) has nominated Hoda Haddadi, Farshid Shafie and Alireza Goldoozian as Iranian nominees in the shortlisted candidates for Hans Christian Anderson 2020 Awards.

The Andersen Awards, given on a biennial basis by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), are presented to an author and an illustrator whose oeuvres are judged to be artistic, genuine and innovative, and more importantly, have made an important, lasting contribution to children’s literature.

Thus far, the Iranian Council has nominated the following five candidates for the Andersen Awards in different genres:  Farshid Mesghali (illustrator, 1974), Hooshang Moradi Kermani (novelist,  1992), Mohammad Reza Yousefi (novelist,  2000), Nasrin Khosravi (illustrator, 2002),  and Farhad Hassan Zadeh (illustrator, 2018).

Among the five nominees, Farshid Mesghali received the award for illustration,  and Hooshang Moradi Kermani received the commendation of the Board of Jurors.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here